N363/N367 (updated 24.7.17:close)
buying/selling naira forex rate per US dollar

UPSA unveils Building Names and Busts in honour of distinguished Former Faculty and Staff

The University of Professional Studies Accra (UPSA) has unveiled the building names and busts made in honour of distinguished former faculty and staff. The buildings on campus and busts bear the names of former Directors, Chairmen, and Registrars’ of the University to commemorate their work and contributions to the school’s rich history.

From its inception as the Institute of Professional Studies in 1957 until the early 2000s, the campus was only comprised of two buildings. Thanks to the hard work of the University’s governing bodies and the  leadership of  the first Vice Chancellor, Prof. Joshua Alabi, the campus has quickly expanded over the last decade and now boasts of several buildings including a full-functioning medical clinic, various lecturing blocks, a central administration building, and a five-story library complex – the largest in all of Ghana.

At a ceremony today, 10 August 2017 to unveil the names and busts, Vice Chancellor, Prof. Abednego F.O. Amartey stated that it was important for all the buildings on campus to be named after former faculty, not just because of their relationship to the University, but because of the example that it sets for all of Ghana to celebrate and show pride in its countrymen.

Prof. Amartey said the building names show that “it is possible to make it if you are Ghanaian. Students must see that they too can make it”.

Registrar Dr. Seidu Mustapha read the names of the honourees and led the program participants on a campus tour to show the busts and building names.

Several of the honourees and their family members were in attendance to give thanks for the commemoration and share about their time at UPSA.

UPSA unveils Building Names and Busts in honour of distinguished Former Faculty and Staff

Below are names of the honourees:


Nana J.K. Opoku Ampomah  –                        Founder and First Director of the Institute of Professional studies (IPS)

Ms Theresa Andah                  –                       First Director appointed by Government (1977-79)

Mr. J.B. Buamah                     –                       Director, IPS (1980-1993)

Mr. E.A.K. Arkorful               –                          Director, IPS (1993-2001)

Rev. Fr. J.J.M. Martey            –                        Director, IPS (2001-2003)  Rector, IPS (2003-2008)

Prof. Joshua Alabi                   –                       Rector, IPS (2009-2012)  First Vice-Chancellor, UPSA (2012-2016)

Building Names

NAME                                                                Position                                                                              Building

Nana J. K. Opoku Ampomah                      –    Founder (1967)                                                          – Central Administration Block

First Director (1977)

Mr. W.B. Dapaah                                      –    Lecturer, IPS (1986-87)                                              –  South Wing (Central Administration Block)

Executive Secretary, IPS (1988-2000)

First Registrar, IPS (2000-2010)

Mr. Ewun-Toma                                             – First Board Chairman,                                                 –    Clinic (Medication Centre)

Mr. Idris Egala                                            –  Chairman of Council (2001-2009)                               –     Graduate School

Rev. Fr. J.J.M. Martey                                 – Director, IPS  (2001-2008)                                           –  Academic Wing Complex

Mr. Justice Nii Aryeetey                              – Chairman of Council (2009-2016)                                 – Lecture Block Complex

Ms. Theresa Andah                                      – First Director appointed by     –                                   –  Club House

Government (1977-79)

Prof. Joshua Alabi                                         – Rector, IPS (2009-2012)                                          –  Library Complex

First Vice-Chancellor, UPSA (2012-2016)

Dr. Seidu M. Mustapha                                 –   Registrar (2010 to date)                                       -North Wing (Central Administration Block)

  Share on Google+
Latest updates
Check out these important updates